Driving Digital Transformation Together

Independent, neutral, forward-looking - with these strengths, the international prostep ivip association has been successfully demonstrating its excellence on 4 continents for 30 years now. As shapers of digital transformation, we bundle the interests of manufacturers and suppliers in the manufacturing industry as well as IT providers in close cooperation with research and scientific institutions.

With innovative multilateral approaches, we develop end-to-end process, system and data integration for all phases of the product creation process, particularly in our project groups, to enable our members to achieve long-term competitive advantages. We are supported in this by a large network of worldwide partner organizations.

 

The prostep ivip Symposium 2024 is over! Many thanks to the 700 international participants, thanks to all exhibitors, speakers and thanks to our premium partners BMW and PTC!

See you on May 13-14, 2024 at the BCC Berlin at the prostep ivip Symposium 2025!

 

 

 

 

The prostep ivip association has officially welcomed Microsoft as a new member, extending the collective expertise of the product lifecycle management…

Intensive networking and an exchange of information with our Japanese members characterizedthe Date 8. Dezember in Tokyo: Informationsveranstaltung…

From Ländle to Bavaria - from Stuttgart to Munich! Loyal symposium visitors will already know the venue from 2018.

The current ProductDataJournal

Our unique added value

The prostep ivip project groups

Our project groups thrive on the experience and know-how of our international members from industry and research. The results of the intensive project work, which are profitable for all, can be found in white papers, benchmarks and recommendations within our media library. As a member of the prostep ivip association you are cordially invited to participate in the active project work.

prostep ivip

Publications

A concentrated load of knowledge

Grown from the cooperation of our international community. In this media library we collect the results of intensive project work. Here you will find publications on the different fields of work within prostep ivip. For members of the prostep ivip Association the publications are available for download free of charge. 

prostep ivip

Events

Whether online or on-site

prostep ivip offers a variety of events. After all, continuing education, networking and intensive exchange are indispensable for driving forward-looking topics and jointly developing solutions for current challenges. In addition to the internationally renowned prostep ivip Symposium, the JT Day, STEP Day and vec Day have become particularly well established. Relatively new, but with a steadily growing number of participants, the System Engineering Summit held in Japan is becoming a permanent fixture in the Asian region. Some of the monthly web seminars are also open to non-members - all information is available on our homepage.

About us

Promoting young talent

prostep ivip supports the PLM minds of tomorrow

with 1,000 euros (master's thesis) or 4,000 euros (doctoral thesis) with the Scientific Award. You are a (prospective) engineer and your master or doctoral thesis deals with virtual product development? Would you like to present your ideas to representatives of leading manufacturers and IT companies? Then apply for the annual Scientific Award!  

In addition to the prize money (1,000 € master's thesis or 4,000 € doctoral thesis), we offer the winner in the area of doctoral thesis the opportunity to become part of the prostep ivip Symposium and to report on the results of the doctoral thesis within the "Scientific Track". A unique chance to leave a lasting impression on the expert audience and thus on potential future employers! 

About us

Our roots

prostep ivip is an association based in Darmstadt. It was founded in September 1993 at the instigation of 38 well-known industrial and numerous IT companies such as BMW, Bosch, Continental, Daimler, Delphi, Opel, Siemens, Volkswagen and 30 others, originally as part of the German STEP initiative. The aim of founding the association was that the competitiveness of German companies would be determined to a large extent by the development of modern procedures for efficient product data management.

The starting point was the joint development of the STEP (ISO 10303) data format, which was intended to ensure the independence of the manufacturing industry from CAD software suppliers. Since 2003, integrated virtual product creation (iViP) has been one of the association's pioneering scientific topics and has now established itself as the most important tool for shortening processes up to the product's market launch.

Today, it is still a major concern of the prostep ivip association to develop new approaches of end-to-end process, system and data integration for its members and to digitally support all product creation phases.

About us

Honorary members

When blazing enthusiasm for forward-looking topics meets decades of passionate commitment, this is the best prerequisite for honorary membership in the prostep ivip Association.

The experience and know-how of our honorary members are an invaluable advantage for our community. We are therefore only too happy to benefit from the passion of the annually growing crowd of honorary members who receive their award during the prostep ivip Symposium. 

As innovative pioneers with decades of association history, they not only pass on their knowledge as mentors to the next generation of PLM professionals, but also serve as advisors to the PLM community.

Gemeinsam Digitale Transformation vorantreiben

Unabhängig, neutral, zukunftsweisend – mit diesen Stärken zeigt der internationale prostep ivip Verein seit inzwischen 30 Jahren erfolgreich auf 4 Kontinenten seine Exzellenz. Als Gestalter der digitalen Transformation bündeln wir die Interessen von Herstellern und Lieferanten der Fertigungs-industrie sowie von IT-Anbietern in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Forschungs- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen.

Mit innovativen multilateralen Ansätzen entwickeln wir insbesondere in unseren Projektgruppen durchgängige Prozess-, System- und Datenintegration für alle Phasen des Produktentstehungsprozesses, um unseren Mitgliedern langfristige Wettbewerbsvorteile zu ermöglichen. Unterstützt werden wir hierbei von einem großflächigen Netzwerk aus weltweiten Partnerorganisationen. 

Darmstadt/München, April 2024 – „Digital Engineering – Ready for Seamless Collaboration” lautete das Motto des diesjährigen prostep ivip Symposiums,…

The prostep ivip association has officially welcomed Microsoft as a new member, extending the collective expertise of the product lifecycle management…

Intensive networking and an exchange of information with our Japanese members characterized the entire week from 4 to 8 December 2023.

Das aktuelle ProduktDatenJournal

Unser einzigartiger Mehrwert

Die prostep ivip Projektgruppen

Unsere Projektgruppen leben von der Erfahrung und dem Know how unserer internationalen Mitglieder aus Industrie und Forschung. Die für alle gewinnbringenden Ergebnisse der intensiven Projektarbeit finden Sie in White Papers, Benchmarks und Recommendations innerhalb unserer Mediathek. Als Mitglied des prostep ivip Vereins sind Sie herzlich eingeladen, sich an der aktiven Projektarbeit zu beteiligen.

Mediathek

Veröffentlichungen

Geballte Ladung Wissen

Gewachsen aus der Zusammenarbeit unserer internationalen Community. In dieser Mediathek sammeln wir die Ergebnisse intensiver Projektarbeit. Hier finden Sie Publikationen zu den unterschiedlichen Arbeitsfeldern innerhalb von prostep ivip. Für Mitglieder des prostep ivip Vereins stehen die Publikationen kostenfrei zum Download zur Verfügung.

 

prostep ivip

Events

Ob online oder on-site

prostep ivip bietet eine Vielzahl an Veranstaltungen. Denn Weiterbildung, Networking und intensiver Austausch sind unerlässlich, um zukunftsweisende Themen zu treiben und gemeinsam Lösungen für aktuelle Herausforderungen zu erarbeiten. Besonders etabliert haben sich – neben dem international bekannten prostep ivip Symposium – der JT Day, STEP Day und vec Day. Relativ neu und doch mit stetig wachsender Teilnehmerschar wächst das in Japan stattfindende System Engineering Summit zur festen Größe im asiatischen Raum heran.
Seit langem bewährt sind die kostenfreien Web Seminare, die auch teilweise für Nicht-Mitglieder geöffnet sind.

Über Uns

Nachwuchsförderung

prostep ivip fördert PLM-Köpfe von morgen

mit 1.000 Euro (Masterarbeit) oder 4.000 Euro (Doktorarbeit) mit der Verleihung des Scientific Award. 
Sie sind (angehende/r) Ingenieur*in und beschäftigen sich in Ihrer Master- oder Doktorarbeit mit der virtuellen Produktentstehung? Sie möchten Ihre Ideen Vertretern führender Hersteller und IT-Unternehmen vorstellen? Dann bewerben Sie sich für die Verleihung des jährlichen Scientific Awards! 

Neben dem Preisgeld (1.000 € Masterarbeit bzw. 4.000 € Doktor-Arbeit) bieten wir dem Gewinner/der Gewinnerin im Bereich Doktorarbeit die Möglichkeit, selbst Teil des prostep ivip Symposiums zu werden und innerhalb des „Scientific Tracks“ über die Ergebnisse der Doktorarbeit zu berichten. Eine einmalige Chance, einen bleibenden Eindruck beim fachkundigen Publikum und somit potenziellen künftigen Arbeitgebern zu hinterlassen! 
 

Über Uns

Unsere Wurzeln

prostep ivip ist ein Verein mit Sitz in Darmstadt. Gegründet wurde er im September 1993 auf Betreiben von 38 namhaften Industrie- und zahlreichen IT-Unternehmen wie BMW, Bosch, Continental, Daimler, Delphi, Opel, Siemens, Volkswagen und 30 weiteren, ursprünglich als Teil der deutschen STEP-Initiative. Ziel der Vereinsgründung war, dass die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit deutscher Unternehmen maßgeblich von der Entwicklung moderner Verfahren für effizientes Produktdatenmanagement bestimmt sein wird.

Ausgangspunkt war die gemeinsame Entwicklung des Datenformats STEP (ISO 10303), der die Unabhängigkeit der Fertigungsindustrie von CAD-Softwarelieferanten gewährleisten sollte. Seit 2003 ist die integrierte virtuelle Produktentstehung (iViP) eines der wissenschaftlichen Vorreiterthemen des Vereins und hat sich heute als wichtigstes Instrument zur Verkürzung der Prozesse bis zur Markteinführung des Produkts etabliert.

Auch heute ist es ein wesentliches Anliegen des prostep ivip Vereins, für seine Mitglieder neue Ansätze der durchgängigen Prozess-, System- und Datenintegration zu entwickeln und alle Produktentstehungsphasen digital zu unterstützen.
 

Über Uns

Ehrenmitglieder

Wenn glühende Begeisterung für zukunftsweisende Themen auf jahrzehntelanges leidenschaftliches Engagement treffen, ist dies die beste Voraussetzung für eine Ehrenmitgliedschaft im prostep ivip Verein.

Die Erfahrung und das Know how unserer Ehrenmitglieder sind ein unschätzbarer Vorteil für unsere Community. Nur zu gern profitieren wir daher von der Leidenschaft der jährlich wachsenden Schar an Ehrenmitgliedern, die ihre Auszeichnung während des prostep ivip Symposiums erhalten. 

Als innovative Vordenker mit jahrzehntelanger Vereinsgeschichte geben sie ihr Wissen als Mentoren nicht nur dem PLM-Nachwuchs weiter, sondern stehen als Berater*innen der PLM Community zur Seite. Mehr Informationen zu unseren Ehrenmitgliedern finden Sie hier (eigene Seite Ehrenmitglieder).