prostep IVIP
  • Suche
  • Drucken
  • LinkedIn
  • Xing
  • YouTube
  • Xing

CPO: Plug and Play in IT

Industry 4.0, IoT, and other trends are clearly driving a rise in complexity. This relates not only to products but also to processes used to develop and produce them as well as the IT systems in use here. With this greater complexity comes greater costs. While industry is increasingly facing challenges related cost pressures, legacy systems, and the demand for greater agility and flexibility, the issue of vendor lock is also being heard more and more.

The Code of Openness (CPO) is an initiative of the prostep ivip Association, sponsored by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, which seeks to address the associated challenges by taking a strategy unique anywhere. The acronym ‘CPO’ originally stood for Code of PLM Openness.

The aim of the CPO is to create openness that will make it easy to integrate IT systems into connected IT environments, such as company networks and IoT. The code combines IT requirements with those of the users. The CPO is a standard catalogue that defines measurable criteria (‘shall,’ ‘should,’ ‘may’) for the following categories: interoperability, infrastructure, extensibility, interfaces, standards, architecture, and partnership.

Alongside the CPO initiative that is working to promote the use of the CPO in industrial applications, an accredited CPO certification program was set up.

How You Benefit

CPO is a clear signal and invitation to all global market players, whether they are members of the prostep ivip Association or not, to participate.

The CPO is an important step towards the future for IT vendors as well as IT customers in aerospace and defense, automotive, mechanical engineering, and shipbuilding. The initiative is necessary to speed up the pace at which innovation and technical progress make their way into the IT systems in use in industry.

IT customers can stake out a clear position together with IT service providers and IT vendors and outline their basic requirements for PLM openness, helping achieve the agility, flexibility, and speed they need to further develop their PLM system environments while also safeguarding their investments.

Along with seeking certification, IT vendors and IT service providers receive harmonized, clearly defined requirements regarding the openness of IT systems as well as the wide range of information they need to create an innovative product range. Long-term business strategies are made easier by creating openness in this area. A commitment to the CPO does not mean giving your services away. It means working together with your customers and other parties involved to establish the parameters of a strong partnership.

In short, the code allows you to improve your market position.

Further information

CPO Version 1.4

CPO Download Package

CPO Core Team

Atos
AVL List
CONTACT
Daimler
Dassault Systèmes
PTC
Siemens PLM
Theorem
T-Systems
Volkswagen
xPLM
Yazaki

Chairman

Eckard Gatzmanga, Yazaki

Do you have any questions concerning the CPO?

We are eager to help you!

prostep ivip Verein
Dr. Steven Vettermann
Tel.: +49 6151 9287 405
Fax: +49 6151 9287 326
E-Mail: steven.vettermann(at)prostep.org

Support

We are eager to help you with any questions concerning your project or selection of publications

Telefon
TELEPHONE HOTLINE
+49 6151 9287-336

Newsletter

Register for your individual news about prostep ivip.

Our Blog

Here you will find news about prostep ivip and all topics about digital transformation.

Blog

Read the latest topics

Follow us

For more inspiration, news and information about prostep ivip.

LinkedInXingYouTubeTwitter

ImprintPrivacy StatementLegal Notice

prostep IVIP
  • Suche
  • Drucken
  • LinkedIn
  • Xing
  • YouTube
  • Xing

CPO: Plug&Play in der IT

Industrie 4.0, IoT etc. treiben und zeigen eines: Die Komplexität steigt! Nicht nur die der Produkte, sondern auch die Prozesse zu deren Entwicklung und Produktion, bis hinunter zu den dabei benutzten IT-Systemen. Dementsprechend steigen die Kosten. Industrievertreter finden sich immer öfters im Spannungsumfeld zwischen Kostendruck, Legacy-Systemen und der Forderung nach mehr Agilität und Flexibilität wieder, sprechen aber auch immer öfters vom Vendor-Lock.

Der Code of Openness (CPO) ist eine Aktivität des prostep ivip Vereins unter der Schirmherrschaft des deutschen Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi), die die damit verbundenen Herausforderungen in einem weltweit einzigartigen Ansatz adressiert. Das Akronym CPO stammt ursprünglich von der Abkürzung des Terms Code of PLM Openness.

Der CPO zielt auf die Etablierung von Offenheit und damit die einfache Integration von IT in vernetzten IT-Umgebungen (z.B. Unternehmensnetzwerken, IoT). Er verknüpft technische IT-Anforderungen mit denen der Anwender. Es ist ein Standard-Kriterien-Katalog, der messbare Kriterien (‚muss’, ‚soll’, ‚kann’) zu den Kategorien Interoperabilität, Infrastrukturen, Erweiterbarkeit, Schnittstellen, Standards, Architekturen und Partnerbeziehungen umfasst.

Parallel zureigentlichen CPO-Initiative, die die industrielle Anwendung des CPO und dessen Standardisierung vorantreibt, wurde ein akkreditiertes CPO-Zertifizierungsprogramm etabliert.

Ihr Nutzen

CPO ist ein klares Signal und eine Einladung an alle Player im Markt, weltweit und unabhängig von der prostep ivip Vereinsmitgliedschaft, sich für Offenheit in der IT einzusetzen und sich aktiv daran zu beteiligen.

Damit Innovationen und technologischer Fortschritt schneller Einzug in die IT-Systemwelt der Industrie halten können, ist der CPO ein wichtiger Schritt in die Zukunft – sowohl für IT-Vendoren als auch für Anwender aus Branchen wie Aerospace & Defense, Automotive, Maschinenbau und Schiffbau.

IT-Kunden können zusammen mit IT-Vendoren und IT Service Provider eine klare Position beziehen und ihren Grundanforderungen an Offenheit Ausdruck verleihen, mit der sie die notwendige Agilität, Flexibilität und Geschwindigkeit in der Weiterentwicklung ihrer IT-Systemlandschaft erzielen und gleichzeitig für Investitionsschutz sorgen können.

IT-Vendoren und IT Service Provider erhalten abgestimmte, klar formulierte Anforderungen an die Offenheit von IT-Systemen und weitreichende Erkenntnisse, die sie für die Gestaltung einer innovativen Produktpalette benötigen, und können sich auch entsprechend zertifizieren lassen. Langfristige Business-Strategien lassen sich mit dieser Offenheit einfacher verfolgen. Ein Commitment zum CPO heißt nicht, Leistungen herzuschenken. Es bedeutet, die Bedingungen für eine gute Partnerschaft mit ihren Kunden und beteiligten Dritten aufzuzeigen.

Weitere Informationen

CPO Version 1.4

CPO Download Package

CPO Core Team

Atos
AVL List
CONTACT
Daimler
Dassault Systèmes
PTC
Siemens PLM
Theorem
T-Systems
Volkswagen
xPLM
Yazaki

Vorsitz

Eckard Gatzmanga, Yazaki

Haben Sie Fragen zum CPO?

Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

prostep ivip Verein
Dr. Steven Vettermann
Tel.: +49 6151 9287 405
Fax: +49 6151 9287 326
steven.vettermann(at)prostep.org

Beratung

Ihr Draht zu uns. Wir helfen gern in allen Fragen rund um Ihr Projekt oder Auswahl von Veröffentlichungen

Telefon
TELEFONHOTLINE
+49 6151 9287-336

Newsletter

Hier können sie sich für Ihre individuellen Neuigkeiten rund um prostep ivip eintragen.

Unser Blog

Hier erfahren Sie Neuigkeiten rund um prostep ivip und alle Themen, die digital transfomiert sind.

Blog

Jetzt die aktuellsten Themen lesen

Folgen Sie uns

Für noch mehr Inspirationen, News und Infos rund um prostep ivip.

LinkedInXingYouTubeTwitter

ImpressumDatenschutzRechtliches